Have Drums, Will Travel!


Have Drums, Will Travel!

At the Concertgebouw

At the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, 1996

Welcome to Kettledrummer.com! This is the personal website of yours truly, Andrew P. Simco. With over forty years experience as a timpanist, percussionist, educator and clinician, I have had a lot of fun during my career. Having performed with many fine ensembles such as the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, Albany Symphony Orchestra, Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra, Owensboro Symphony Orchestra, the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, Lincoln’s Symphony Orchestra, the Kenosha Symphony Orchestra, the Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra, the Elmhurst and Elgin Symphony Orchestras as well as the Lake George Opera and the Des Moines Metro Opera Festival. I have indeed been very fortunate. Note the subtitle. This is an affectionate tip of the hat to an old TV western that starred the actor Richard Boone, called “Have Gun, Will Travel.” Having been free-lancing and hauling timpani from one gig to another over the course of the last eighteen years, I kind of feel like the character Palladin from that show.
This website is designed not only to let you know who I am and what I have done and am currently up to, but to talk about the timpani and related matters. It is an interesting profession and I am still having a blast after all these years. The site will be built around a series of blog posts – and I hope that as they are posted that you will read and enjoy them.

My Musical Career – Part Forty-Eight – 1994 – Part Three

1994 – Part Three The Peace Concert, Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder, the USA Tour – and cable timpani? As it turns out, the year 1994 turned out to be as much of a seminal year for the orchestra and myself as the year previous year was. The last two blog posts covered the first two thirds of …

Read more

Dr. Larsen

Robert L. Larsen – The Heart and Soul of the DMMO 1934-2021

Memories One of my operatic “heroes” so to speak has passed to the other side of the veil this past Sunday in Indianola, Iowa. Founder (with Douglas Duncan) of the Des Moines Metro Opera and its Artistic Director from 1973 until 2009, he influenced a generation of singers, music students, production designers and yes, orchestra …

Read more

Salisbury Cathedral

My Musical Career| Part Forty-Seven| 1994 Part Two

1994 Part Two To Scotland and England with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra In August of 1994, prior to the start of the orchestra season, I took part in rehearsals and a tour to England and Scotland with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, under the direction of Dame Iona Brown (1941-2004). She was a famed violin soloist …

Read more


My Musical Career | Part Forty-Six | 1994 Part One

The Year 1994 As I begin this latest blog post, I am suddenly reminded by the fact that the year 1994 was actually quite eventful for the Oslo Philharmonic and myself. In fact, it was almost as good as 1993 now that I have had time to reflect back. There was much more going on …

Read more